Skip to content

What does it mean?

June 21, 2010

I titled my blog Modest, Liberal, Radical, Christian after a good deal of thought. I wanted something that would describe me and who I am. I sometimes feel like I don’t fit the mold of a lot of Christians. It seems that too many people want you to fit into some sort of mold. You are either a fundamentalist conservative, who believes in shades of black and white, or you are a liberal relativist who believes things are in shades of gray. You are either pro-this or anti-that, and most importantly, you aren’t a “Real Christian” if you don’t believe just as they do.

What about those of us who fit somewhere in the middle? Is there room in the kingdom for someone who believes in being modest and being green? Someone who cherishes social justice and fiscal responsibility?

Modest – I believe that it’s Biblical to be modest. Now, if you read the writings of many authors, especially on the internet, who preach modesty, it always so we don’t defraud men. But truthfully, I am modest because I respect myself, I respect my body and I know that Christ wants us to be set apart.

Liberal– I call myself liberal, because in the grand scheme of things, that’s where I fall on social issues. I am eco-friendly, anti-death penalty, believe in civil rights for everyone, and I have a strong stance on social justice. I plan on writing a longer blog post on the issue in the future, but this verse seems to sum it up

“But he’s already made it plain how to live, what to do, what God is looking for in men and women. It’s quite simple: Do what is fair and just to your neighbor, be compassionate and loyal in your love, and don’t take yourself too seriously — take God seriously. ” Micah 6:8

Radical– This is probably the hardest to describe.  It seems that that so many churches have become so me-centric. Sermons are about “What Can Christ Do For Me?” While it’s good to discuss the kind of relationship we should have with Christ, shouldn’t we also be speaking about what Christ wants us to do other than stand on the street corner and preach? I am a firm believer that while works won’t save you, that having Chris in your life will move you to follow his commandments and seek those so called social justices.

Christian – The last part of my post is the most important. I believe salvation is simple. God loves us, and he wants us to be saved. He makes it easy, and make it so that we can have a relationship with him.

Say the welcoming word to God—”Jesus is my Master”—embracing, body and soul, God’s work of doing in us what he did in raising Jesus from the dead. That’s it. You’re not “doing” anything; you’re simply calling out to God, trusting him to do it for you. That’s salvation. With your whole being you embrace God setting things right, and then you say it, right out loud: “God has set everything right between him and me!” Romans 10:9-10

My faith, however, is personal. I don’t believe in forcing it on anyone. Who am I to think I am more powerful than God, when God is truly the one who is in control and is the only one who can bring someone to him?

That’s the blog in a nutshell. I’ve got a few more plans for it, including discussing each point a bit more in depth, as well as my ideas and daily life. I can’t promise this blog will be perfect, but I hope someone will find it interesting.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

